Located in Raleigh, North Carolina

ryan at lynxlicensing dot com

Follow

  • Facebook Social Icon

©2018 LYNX LICENSING. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. "NMLS", "Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System", and "Nationwide Multistate Licensing System" and associated logos are trademarks and/or service marks of State Regulatory Registry, LLC ("SRR"). Lynx Licensing and this website are not associated with, sponsored, approved, or licensed by SRR. NMLS Consumer Access.

California State Licenses and Regulator Costs

California has two distinct regulators - the Department of Business Oversight (DBO) and Bureau of Real Estate (BRE). Generally, companies that do not employ real estate brokers are regulated by the DBO, while real estate companies and sole proprietor brokers are regulated by the BRE.

DBO - Residential Mortgage Lending Act (CRMLA) License (Company)

  • NMLS Cost: $1100

  • Additional Costs: $$15 per credit report, $36.25 per criminal background check; additional state fingerprinting and fees required ($20 for residents and $62.50 for non-residents) Arizona also assesses an additional pro-rated license fee through an NMLS invoice that varies and must be paid prior to licensure

  • Minimum net worth: $250,000

  • Qualifying Individual required

  • Surety Bond Requirement: $50,000 minimum

  • Fidelity bond required

DBO - Residential Mortgage Lending Act (CRMLA) License (Branch)

  • NMLS Cost: $20 (yes, $20)

  • You must submit your license request at least ten (10) business days prior to opening your branch

DBO - Mortgage Loan Originator License (individual)

  • NMLS Cost: $330

  • Additional Costs: $15.00 per credit report, $36.25 per criminal background check

  • Education: 2 hours of CA-specific pre-licensure education is required in addition to the national 20-hour requirement

  • Citizenship documentation is required

BRE Licensing

  • Coming soon!

Please reload

Lynx Licensing charges a flat rate of $625 per state license, $125 per branch license, and $85 per individual license.